Michael Hyatt: Learning to Embrace the In-Between

Posted: August 5, 2013 in Culture of Achievement, Human Capital Management, Instructional Leadership, PTSC, Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Michael Hyatt: Learning to Embrace the In-Between

As I posted on Twitter, this is the best thing I’ve read all week.

“The best moments are the ones happening right now…Embrace the wait…appreciate the delays and postponements”

I’m in the middle of my career life. I’ve climbed the ladder and am looking out wondering what is next (I’m currently a pubic school superintendent). Wondering where my strengths and experiences lead from here. Wondering what meaning and value I can continue to add to the world. I’m using this time to be a sponge–reading, wondering, soaking in–and using this time to refine who I am and who I am going to be for the next phase of my career. What I have learned lately is that sometimes we miss the thing we were supposed to learn because we don’t stop and take a moment to digest it. We don’t dig into what it was we really just learned. We don’t share this learning with others so they can help us plan what we are to do next and then hold us accountable to do it. We are in such a big hurry to move on to the next big thing–true change doesn’t have time to take root. We are always in a rush to the next bigger and better thing–we miss out on the fact that, “the best moments are the ones happening right now.”

Like I said–easily the best thing I’ve read all week!

Leave a Reply

