Anyone who enters my office (or my home) realizes quickly that I love quotes.  I’m not sure why exactly, but there is something that inspires me about a great quote.  They motivate me to improve, reach higher, and reflect on what matters.  Even if you don’t display your quotes on the wall as I do, no doubt you have some that bounce around in your head.  I think these quotes say something about who we are and who we want to be.  So what can I see from my desk as I write this?

“What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters…compared to what lies within us.”  Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Nothing worth having was ever achieved without effort.”  Theodore Roosevelt

“People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”  Maya Angelou

“Wisdom is knowing the right path to take…Integrity is taking it.”  (Not sure to whom I should attribute this one!)

This week I spent time conducting interviews.  As I was preparing for the interviews I was reflecting on some of my core beliefs about hiring:

  1. Character matters
  2. Team players are essential
  3. It’s not entirely about what you know–but if you can be coached
  4. How will you fit with our organization
  5. Character matters

Yes, I know I listed character twice.  It’s that important to me.  Are you who you are in front of me, with students, out in the community, and when you are with your friends?  Can I trust that what you say to me is what you will say to others?  Can I know that above all, integrity matters to you?  I value this in those whom I choose to add to my team.

Sure, we all need to hire highly skilled employees.  But I have come to believe that there are plenty of skills that can be nurtured and developed–but who you are to the core of your being is very difficult (but not impossible) to change.

Hiring is one of the most important jobs an administrator does as getting the right people in the right positions makes a strong organization.  For me, those right people place a high value on their character.  That’s who I want on my team!

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.”

— Abraham Lincoln

“Integrity is not a 90% thing, not a 95% thing; either you have it or you don’t.” –Peter Scotese

Leave a Reply

